When I fall in love…music is just not the same anymore!

This post is dedicated to the song of my life right now “When I fall in love” by Nat King Cole. If you haven’t heard it, you are missing out on one of the most beautiful and inspiring songs in the world! I have never been in love, but that is not the point- it is about choosing to fall in love with that one special person. (Yes I am and always have been a romantic at heart!) But his lyrics ring true even in our modern age, as he sings “In a restless world like this is, love is ended before its begun…” or perhaps that is lust which ends and not love. The music and instrumental background is gorgeous and his voice is pure brilliance! It makes a real change from the music these days which is saturated with crappy pop songs- which yes I do listen to, but hey there’s no escaping it! We should bring the classics back though and show society what real music sounds like! Nat King Cole, Louis Armstrong, Alison Moyet, Elvis Presley! Gosh the list goes on!

Sometimes in this busy life we neglect the small and hidden beauties that are buried in the background among a sea of worries, pressure, stress and everyday life. Once in a while we should take a break and relax and when you’re in the mood listen to some beautiful music which really does de-stress you and calms you down. Well its calms me down at least! Its hard to imagine that beautiful music like this no longer really exists and no one really creates anything beautiful. What I mean is real music that tugs at your heartstrings, that evokes feelings of inspiration and awe within you. Music that moves you so much that you feel a change within you. Perhaps there is music like this in classical music, but I am talking specifically about the genre  of mainstream music.

Other songs I recommend:

‘L-O-V-E’ -Nat King Cole

‘Smile’- Nat King Cole

Simon and Garfunkel- Sound of Silence- live (If you search in youtube live 2009) Their voices are amazing live and they are singing in their 70s! Isn’t that incredible that their voices remain so beautiful?

‘The Boxer’ and ‘Bridge under troubled water’ are also great songs by Simon and Garfunkel.

‘I’d really love to see you tonight’- England Dan and John Ford Coley

‘I can’t help falling in love’- Elvis Presley

‘Close to you’- The Carpenters

‘On top of the world’- The Carpenters

‘We’ve only just begun’- The Carpenters

‘Please Mr Postman’- The Carpenters

‘Amazed’- Lonestar (A recent song but it always uplifts my spirits!)

I also like Lady Antebellum- there music is very soothing. Songs of theirs I recommend is ‘Dancing Away With My Heart’, ‘Need you right now’

Faith Hill- ‘There You’ll Be’

Classical/Pianist songs I love:

Ludovico Einaudi- Fairytale, Love is a mystery, Le Onde, I giorni, Nuvole Bianche- These are my favourite pieces and I can only play I giorni on the piano but I would love to learn the rest! One day I will! oh I forgot to mention these are songs with no singing- just the piano!

Anyway I hope you enjoy my suggestions- they are a few favourite songs of mine! If anyone has any song suggestions please feel free to add them! 🙂

Take Care!

2 thoughts on “When I fall in love…music is just not the same anymore!

  1. Great version by a great singer. You may like All the Way by Frank Sinatra.

Leave a Reply

